The Nineteenth Amendment Centennial Cookbook

The Nineteenth Amendment Centennial Cookbook

In honor of the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, the ABA has released a digital cookbook, The Nineteenth Amendment Centennial Cookbook: 100 Recipes for 100 Years. The cookbook features recipes from five Supreme Court justices along with other luminaries from the legal world and mirrors similar cookbooks published by suffragists to gain support for the voting rights movement a century ago. 

ALI council member M. Margaret McKeown of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit served as an editor to the project and also supplied the cookbook’s introduction.  

“My hope is that this cookbook reminds us of the heroic efforts of our mothers, grandmothers, and great-grandmothers, along with the men who supported the cause and voted for ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment, but also inspires us to persist in our work towards a better, more equitable future.”  

Other ALI members who contributed include: 

Mark D. Agrast, American Society of International Law  
Elizabeth A. Andersen, World Justice Project 
Allen D. Black, Fine, Kaplan and Black, RPC 
Stephen G. Breyer, Supreme Court of the United States 
Tracie L. Brown, California Court of Appeal, First District 
Tani Cantil-Sakauye, Supreme Court of California 
Erwin Chemerinsky, University of California, Berkeley School of Law 
JoAnne A. Epps, Temple University 
Merrick B. Garland, U.S. Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Circuit 
Heather Gerken, Yale Law School 
Jane C. Ginsburg, Columbia Law School 
Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Supreme Court of the United States 
Risa L. Goluboff, University of Virginia School of Law 
Neil M. Gorsuch, Supreme Court of the United States 
Fatima Goss Graves, National Women's Law Center 
Linda Greenhouse, Yale Law School 
Jeffrey R. Howard, U.S. Court of Appeals, First Circuit 
Linda A. Klein, Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC 
Noëlle Lenoir, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP 
Gillian L. Lester, Columbia Law School 
David F. Levi, Duke Law School 
Roberta D. Liebenberg, Fine, Kaplan and Black, RPC 
Margaret H. Marshall, Choate Hall & Stewart LLP 
Jenny S. Martinez, Stanford Law School 
Judy Perry Martinez, Simon, Peragine, Smith & Redfearn, L.L.P. 
Michele Coleman Mayes, The New York Public Library 
Janet Napolitano, University of California 
Sandra Day O’Connor, Supreme Court of the United States (Ret.) 
Eric A. Posner, University of Chicago Law School 
Ellen S. Pryor, UNT Dallas College of Law 
Roberta Cooper Ramo, Modrall Sperling 
Patricia Lee Refo, Snell & Wilmer L.L.P. 
Jack L. Rives, American Bar Association 
David W. Rivkin, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP 
Vanessa Ruiz, District of Columbia Court of Appeals 
Mary M. Schroeder, U.S. Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit 
Sonia Sotomayor, Supreme Court of the United States 
Sri Srinivasan, U.S. Court of Appeals, District of Columbia Circuit 
Debra L. Stephens, Supreme Court of Washington 
Bryan Stevenson, Equal Justice Initiative 
Nina Totenberg, National Public Radio 
William M. Treanor, Georgetown University Law Center 
Timothy M. Tymkovich, U.S. Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit 
Seth P. Waxman, WilmerHale 
Diane P. Wood, U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit 

Featured Members