AALS 2021 Section Award Winners

The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) is proud to announce the winners of its 2021 section awards for excellence in legal education. 

AALS, founded in 1900, is a nonprofit association dedicated to upholding and advancing excellence in legal education. This year’s winners will be acknowledged during an online awards ceremony at the 2021 AALS Annual Meeting on Jan. 5. 

ALI members receiving awards include: 

Section on Election Law John Hart Ely Prize in the Law of Democracy 
Richard Briffault – Columbia Law School 

Section on Family & Juvenile Law Achievement Award 
Andrew Ike Schepard – Hofstra University School of Law
Susan Frelich Appleton – Washington University School of Law 

Section on Federal Courts Best Article on the Law of Federal Jurisdiction 
Merritt Ellen McAlister – University of Florida Fredric G. Levin College of Law 

Section on Federal Courts Daniel J. Meltzer Award 
Richard H. Fallon Jr. – Harvard Law School 
Martin H. Redish – Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law 

Section on Jurisprudence Article Award 
Deborah S. Hellman – University of Virginia School of Law 

Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research Award 
Cassandra Hill – Northern Illinois University College of Law 

Section on Pro Bono & Public Service Opportunities Deborah L. Rhode Award 
Erwin Chemerinsky – University of California, Berkeley School of Law 

Section on Remedies Lifetime Scholarly Achievement Award 
Doug Rendleman – Washington and Lee University School of Law 

Section on Torts and Compensation Systems Prosser Award 
Jack B. Weinstein – U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York 

Learn more and view the full list here.  

Featured Members