Annual Meeting and 100th Anniversary Celebration

The Annual Meeting will be held in person at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, D.C. 

Annual Meeting project sessions and many speaker presentations and panels will take place at The Ritz-Carlton. Please note below alternate locations for some events in bold. Special guests and speakers are still being confirmed and will be announced soon. 

ALI members attending the Annual Meeting will be able to speak from the floor of the ballroom and vote on draft approvals and other motions. The Annual Meeting will also be livestreamed with video and audio only; the livestream will not be interactive.

TENTATIVE AGENDA, Subject to change
Updated 5/04/2023
Sunday, May 21
2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
Unexampled Courage: Michelle Childs interviews author Richard Gergel
Richard Gergel’s Unexampled Courage details the impact of the blinding of Sergeant Woodard on the racial awakening of President Truman and Judge Waring, and traces their influential roles in changing the course of America’s civil rights history.
3:30-5:30 p.m.
ALI CLE Ethics Program: The Issues and Ethics of Litigation Financing
Moderator: Tom Baker of the University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School
Speakers: Jiamie Chen of D. E. Shaw & Co., Victoria Shannon Sahani of Boston University School of Law, Virginia A. Seitz of Sidley Austin, and Sarah S. Vance of the U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana.
6:30-9:00 p.m.
Council Reception and Dinner (closed event - invitees only)
7:00 p.m.
Welcome Dinner for New Members and First-Time Attendees
Sequoia Restaurant (closed event - invitees only)
Monday, May 22
8:30 a.m.
Opening Session
9:00 a.m.
Restatement of the Law, Copyright
10:30 a.m.
Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Medical Malpractice & Miscellaneous Provisions
12:15 p.m.
Members Luncheon: Welcoming New Members | Marriott
Speakers: ALI President David F. Levi and Director Diane P. Wood
1:45 p.m.
100th Anniversary Program: Social Media and Democracy
Moderator: Mary H. Murguia, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit
Cindy Cohn, Electronic Frontier Foundation
Nita A. Farahany, Duke University School of Law
Steven Feldstein, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
3:15 p.m.
Presentation of Wisdom Award to Margaret H. Marshall by Wallace Jefferson, and to Mary M. Schroeder by Mike Traynor.
3:45 p.m.
Restatement of the Law Fourth, Property
5:30 p.m.
7:00-9:30 p.m.
Members Reception and Buffet | National Portrait Gallery
Panel: The State of Democracy in the United States
Featuring: David Rubenstein, Danielle Allen, and David Brooks
Tuesday, May 23
8:30 a.m.
ALI Early Career Scholars Program: Presentation by Ashley Deeks
The Double Black Box: National Security, AI and Democratic Accountability.
9:00 a.m.
100th Anniversary Program: Artificial Intelligence and Society
Moderator: Travis LeBlanc, Cooley
Ruth Okediji, Harvard Law School
Marc Rotenberg, Center for AI and Digital Policy
Brad Smith, Microsoft
10:30 a.m.
Restatement of the Law, Children and the Law
12:00 p.m.
Presentation of Distinguished Service Award to Roberta Cooper Ramo. Presented by ALI Director Diane P. Wood.
12:15 p.m.
Members Luncheon Honoring New 25-Year and 50-Year Members
Speaker: Gerard E. Lynch, U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit
The ALI in an Age of Skepticism
1:45 p.m.
100th Anniversary Program: The American Law Institute: A Centennial History
Moderators: Andrew S. Gold, Brooklyn Law School and Robert W. Gordon of Stanford Law School.
Panelists: Deborah A. DeMott of Duke University School of Law, G. Edward White of University of Virginia School of Law, and Richard R.W. Brooks of New York University School of Law.
3:15 p.m.
Restatement of the Law Third, Torts: Remedies
5:30 p.m.
7:00 p.m.
Annual Reception and Dinner | National Building Museum
Presentation of the Henry J. Friendly Medal to Chief Justice of the United States John G. Roberts, Jr., by Supreme Court Associate Justice Elena Kagan

The Annual Dinner is sold out.
Contact to join the wait list.

Wednesday, May 24
8:30 a.m.
ALI Early Career Scholars Program: Presentation by Francis Shen
How Neuroscience Will Change the Law.
9:00 a.m.
Restatement of the Law Third, Conflict of Laws
10:30 a.m.
100th Anniversary Program: Role of Technology in Dispute Resolution and Access to Justice
Moderator: David Freeman Engstrom, Stanford Law School
Bridget Mary McCormack, American Arbitration Association International Centre for Dispute Resolution
Colin Rule, and
Rebecca L. Sandefur, Arizona State University
12:00 p.m.
Members Luncheon
Speaker: Harold Hongju Koh, Yale Law School
Law and the Russian-Ukraine War.
1:15 p.m.
Principles of the Law, Government Ethics
3:30 p.m.


Annual Meeting Headquarters:

The Ritz-Carlton
1150 22nd Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037